The Indiana Uplands region is comprised of 11 counties: Brown, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Greene, Lawrence, Martin, Monroe, Orange, Owen, and Washington.

Population: 397,901

Area: 4,500 square miles

Cities and Towns: 48

Largest Cities:

  • Bloomington
  • Bedford
  • Jasper
  • Washington

Workforce: 194,00

Key Industry Sectors:

  • National Security and Defense
  • Life Sciences
  • Advanced Manufacturing


  • School Corporations: 27
  • School-aged Children: 51,000
  • Graduating Seniors Per Year: 3,600
  • Higher Education Institutions: 3

In a region replete with talent and resources, Uplanders—from students to visionaries, artisans to entrepreneurs—are competitive and thriving here and worldwide. Find your place to thrive at